Music Victoria Announce Nominees For The 2019 Music Victoria Awards

Written by Jay-Dee on 10th October, 2019
Music Victoria Announce Nominees For The 2019 Music Victoria Awards

The Music Victoria Awards are back for their 15th year, announcing a huge list of incredible local acts as the 2019 nominees. 

Previous award winners Sampa The Great and The Teskey Brothers lead the nominees tally, joined by Tropical F*ck Storm and Gordon Koang - all up for a whopping five awards each. Following closely behind is rising hip hop act DRMNGNOW and the unstoppable Amyl and the Sniffers with four nominations each across both the public and industry voted categories. Previous awards performer Angie McMahon has also snagged three publically-voted nominations.

Voting for The 2019 Music Victoria Awards is now live, closing midnight Friday 8 November. Australia's music community can vote for their favourite music contributions of the year in the publicly-voted categories for Best Album, Best Band, Best Song, Best Solo Artist, Best Male Musician, Best Female Musician, Best Breakthrough Act, Best Live Band, Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity), and Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity). Those who vote will also go in the running to win tickets to attend the ceremony at Melbourne Recital Centre on Wednesday 20 November. Check out the full nominee list below.

At this years ceremony, beloved community radio station PBS 106.7FM and Australian music icons Vika and Linda Bull will also be inducted into Music Victoria's Hall of Fame. 

A limited number of Awards night tickets will be available to the general public from Monday 21 October. Performing artists on the night to be announced.

The Music Victoria Awards

Wed 20 November 2019 | Melbourne Recital Centre

Limited tickets on sale on Monday 21 October 2019

 Vote now 

The nominees now open for PUBLIC VOTING are:

Best Album

Amyl and the Sniffers - Amyl and the Sniffers

Angie McMahon - Salt

Gregor - Silver Drop

On Diamond - On Diamond

The Teskey Brothers - Run Home Slow

Best Band

Amyl and the Sniffers

Cash Savage and The Last Drinks

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard

The Teskey Brothers

Tropical F*ck Storm

Best Song

Briggs - Life is Incredible (feat. Greg Holden)

Cash Savage and The Last Drinks - Good Citizens

Gordon Koang - Stand Up (Clap Your Hands)

Sampa The Great - Final Form

The Teskey Brothers - So Caught Up

Best Solo Artist

Alex Lahey

Angie McMahon

Baker Boy

Courtney Barnett


Gordon Koang



Palm Springs

Sampa The Great

Best Male Musician

Davey Lane

Gareth Liddiard (Tropical Fuck Storm)

Gordon Koang

Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard)

Paul Kelly

Best Female Musician

Angie McMahon

Courtney Barnett

Erica Dunn (Tropical F*ck Storm, Palm Springs, Harmony)

Romy Vager (RVG)

Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)

Best Breakthrough Act


Gena Rose Bruce

G Flip

Gordon Koang

Tones and I

Best Live Act

Amyl and the Sniffers

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard


Sampa The Great

Tropical F*ck Storm

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)

The Gasometer Hotel, Fitzroy

Howler, Brunswick

Northcote Social Club, Northcote

The Old Bar, Fitzroy

The Tote Hotel, Collingwood

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)

Corner Hotel, Richmond

The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury

Forum, Melbourne

Hamer Hall, Southbank

Melbourne Recital Centre, Southbank


Best Festival

Boogie Festival


Golden Plains

Meredith Music Festival


Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act


The Kite Machine

Maya Rose


The Teskey Brothers

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)

The Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine

Caravan Music Club, Bentleigh East

Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Sooki Lounge, Belgrave

Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)

Barwon Heads Hotel, Barwon Heads

The Bridge Hotel, Bendigo

Malt Shed, Wangaratta

Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan

Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

Allara Briggs Pattison


Kalyani & Isha

Key Hoo

Robert K Champion

Best Blues Album

Anna Scionti - Orphan Diary

Catfish Voodoo - Cookin' With...

Julian James - Silver Spade

Opelousas - Opelousified

T.K. Reeve - I Wanna Feel Good

Best Country Album

Kate Alexander + Hana Brenecki - Don't You Have Better Things To Do?

Matt Joe Gow - Break, Rattle And Roll

Mick Thomas' Roving Commission - Coldwater DFU

Nathan Seeckts - The Heart Of The City

Sean McMahon - You Will Know When You're There

Best Electronic Act


DJ Plead


Rings Around Saturn

Sui Zhen

Best Experimental or Avant-garde Act

Cat Hope

CORIN (Corin Ileto)

Diimpa (William Elm)

Naretha Williams

Uboa (Xandra Metcalfe)

Best Folk or Roots Album

Cat & Clint - The Days That Used To Be

Lucie Thorne - KITTY & FRANK

The Maes - The Maes

Roolya Boolya - Running to You

The Teskey Brothers - Run Home Slow

Best Heavy Album

Blackhelm - Dark Clouds of the Inferno

Religious Observance - Utter Discomfort

Suldusk - Lunar Falls

Uboa - The Origin of My Depression

Vexation - Journey Beyond Mortality

Best Hip Hop Act

Cool Out Sun




Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act

Cool Out Sun

Gordon Koang

Iaki Vallejo

P rolas

The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra

Best Jazz Album

Adam Simmons - The Usefulness of Art

Adam Spiegel - Melancholiac

Andrea Keller - Transients Vol. 1

Spirograph Studies - Kindness, Not Courtesy

Various Artists - Sunny Side Up

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act

Echo Drama

Jah Tung

Quashani Bahd

The Shottaz

Yaw Faso

Best Rock/Punk Album

Amyl and the Sniffers - Amyl and the Sniffers

HEXDEBT - Rule Of Four

Stonefield - Bent

Tropical F*ck Storm - Braindrops

V - So Pure

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album

Allysha Joy - Acadie: Raw

Clever Austin - Pareidolia

Cool Out Sun - Cool Out Sun

Laneous - Monstera Deliciosa

The Putbacks - The Putbacks

Voting closes at midnight, Friday 8 November 2019.